Harris Motor Speedway

Next Event:
Next Event

July 2 Train Race $500 to win Young Guns V6 FWD, Stock 8, Crate Sportsman, Pure Stock, Stock 4 $700 to win Thunder Bomber $1000 to win FWD 4 Renegade

Results Rules
Points Contact Us

Harris Speedway, Inc.

Saturday Night June 24 at Harris Speedway!!

Harris Speedway held out with all the rain surrounding the track and was able to get the races in. The rain delayed getting the track prep on time and caused a delay in getting the night events underway. Thanks to the track crew and drivers for putting the extra effort to get the track ready to race.

In the renegades Josh Burgess and Willie Teems started on the front row and made it into turn one side by side. Josh was able to pull out taking the lead off turn 2 with Willie rolling off turn 2 in the second spot. Johnny Hipp and Lloyd Dean battled for the 3rd spot with Johnny Hipp taking the spot. At the checkered flag it was, Josh, Willie, Johnny, and Lloyd Dean. Chris jones started in the back and moved up to take a fifth place finish.

In the Crate Sportsman Dustin Taylor took the lead from the green and lead every lap en-route to his first win of the season at Harris Speedway. John Price held 2nd until mechanical problems sidelined him. Bubba Sutton took over the runner up spot and put pressure on Taylor for the remainder of the race but was unable to take the top spot. Sutton finished 2nd ahead of Andy Mattison, Josh Mulwee and Scott Pulley.

17 cars took the green flag in the thunder bomber feature with heat race winners Timmy Smith and Dewayne Worley on the front row for the feature. Smith was able to make the outside lane work for him as he took over the lead exiting turn two. Smith took the win, Worley finished second, and Matt Prince in the #19 car finished 3rd. Last weeks winner Chris Jenkins finished fourth and Nathan Nash rounded out the top 5. The racing action was slowed by only one caution in the action packed feature event.

In the Pure Stock Jordan Brandle and Nathan Pierce took the heat race wins. Brandle took the lead from the drop of the green flag in the feature event. Pierce kept pressure on Brandle and was able to squeeze by on lap 7 to put the Showtime 7 machine out front. Brandle followed Showtime across the line for a strong 2nd place finish. Ray Hudson fought off Michael Nelon every lap and crossed in 3rd place. Nelon finished 4th and Jon Emory sealed the top 5.

In the Young guns Phoenix Lawter lead flag to flag and put his “Yota” in victory lane again for his 6th win in a row. Kourtney Bush in the #2 car captured the runner up spot ahead of Ty Pittman in the 08 machine , Bo Butler in the 6pack car, and Emily Alexander in the J1C car.

Cody Ussery got to celebrate his birthday in victory lane after taking the win in the Stock 4’s. Stacy Brock took 2nd place ahead of Grey Parton, Dusty Eaves, and Philip Wilson. Ussery and Brock won their heat race.

In the V6 class the #1 car and the #66 car battled every lap of the race, swapping paint on more than one occasion. At the end of the race Zack Meinders in the #1 car took the win over the #66 entry of Charlie Meinders. Tony Grimes, current point leader, took home 3rd place.

Dustin Morris rolled to yet another win in the stock 8 class. Jason Jolley held off a late charge from Ronnie O’Sullivan in the X2 to take 2nd place. O’Sullivan took 3rd place ahead of Spencer Jeffers #51 and Marty Reid took fifth.

In the FWD’s 19 cars took the initial green flag. After 2 unsuccessful starts the field was lined up single file. When the caution plagued feature can to a close, Scott Cloniger took the checkered flag ahead of Jonathon Surratt, Mason Mack, and Chelsea Lhuillier. Tony Laws rounded out the top five.

Harris Speedway would like to thank all the fans, drivers, pit crew and track staff for a great night of racing.

Harris Speedway will not be racing this coming Saturday night. Race action has been moved to Sunday night July 2.

Sunday night gates will open at 4pm and drivers meeting will be at 7pm. Drivers will not be able to fire up their racecars until after the drivers meeting.


9 Divisions are on the schedule for Sunday night. Also it will be an interesting night as the highly anticipated train race will take place.

This Sunday night Thunder Bomber will be running for $1000 to the winner. Stock 4 will be racing for $700 to win. Both divisions will qualify.

Other divisions running:
Stock 8
Crate Sportsman
Young Guns
Pure Stock
Train race $500 to win

Join us Sunday night for a great night of racing and for the fireworks celebration at the end of the night. (regular admission)

Track Address: 921 Jack McKinney Rd Rutherfordton, NC 28139
Track Phone# 828-247-4171

For track rules, event schedule, points, and all other information about Harris Speedway visit our website at www.harrisspeedway.com or Facebook Harris Speedway.

To view or purchase pictures from Harris Speedway go to www.dirttrackers.com

Harris Speedway would like to thank the following sponsors for their contributions: Dirt Trackers Photography, Rock Auto, Fortune’s Grading, LLC, VP Racing Fuel, Hoosier Racing Tires, McCarter Towing, Henderson Body Shop, Bantam Chef of Chesnee, Whitesides Construction, Lightning,Lube, & Lather, Xtreme Custom Graphics & Trophies LLC.

Powered by
Wayne Clayton
© 2003

This web site was created for Harris Motor Speedway by Wayne Clayton. All materials, both visual and written, are property of Harris Motor Speedway and Wayne Clayton. Duplication, replication, or other un-authorized use of this web site, or materials within are strictly prohibited. Where applicable, violations will be prosecuted to the fullest extent possible under law.